The 2019 Corporate Ediscovery Hero Awards honor corporate legal professionals and teams that demonstrate excellence in ediscovery, legal operations, and litigation response.

We invite you to join us

We’ll be hosting the third annual awards ceremony at the Edison Ballroom in New York City on January 28, 2019, and we’re inviting you to join us.

A who’s who of luminaries in the ediscovery space will be on hand to celebrate the finalists and winners, all selected by an independent panel of judges and ediscovery experts.

The Awards

From a diverse field of nominees, 20 in-house legal professionals were selected as finalists in four categories. The finalists are each interviewed extensively and then a panel of judges comprised of peers, past winners, federal judges, and ediscovery experts vote in a blind process.

Guardian Award finalists protect their organizations from risk by building defensible and secure processes for ediscovery and litigation response. Finalists for 2019 are:

  • Ellen Blanchard, T-Mobile
  • Sherri Gleason, Dean Koenig & Kevin Patterson, American Airlines
  • Robert Levy, ExxonMobil
  • Kara Ricupero, eBay
  • Shelli Toletti, Tesla

The Maximizer Award is for those who have implemented processes and systems to streamline workflow, control costs, and save time. Finalists for 2019 are:

  • Joslyn Chulski, Dow Chemical
  • Ebony Green, Abbott Laboratories
  • Taylor Hoffman, Swiss Re
  • Sonya Judkins, Sprint
  • Joanna Mason, Andeavor

Smooth Operator Award finalists are for those who have streamlined ediscovery workflows, making litigation response feel nearly effortless. Finalists for 2019 are:

  • Toni Millican, Trinity Industries
  • Michelle Norman, Cox
  • Ben Robbins, LinkedIn
  • Michelle Spak, Duke Energy

The Trailblazer Award recognizes innovators who leverage new ideas, processes, and technology solutions. Finalists for 2019 are:

  • E.J. Bastien, Microsoft
  • Michael Chen, Lam Research
  • Cecil Lynn, PayPal
  • Farrah Pepper, Marsh & McLennan

Hon. Shira Scheindlin Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honorable John M. Facciola will be the recipient of the 2019 Hon. Shira Scheindlin Lifetime Achievement Award, given in recognition of a career that has advanced the practice of electronic discovery. He served as a United States Magistrate Judge for the United States District Court for the District of Columbia from 1997 to 2014.
His impact on ediscovery practice is profound, ranging from Citizens for Responsibility & Ethics in Washington v. Executive Office of the President, where he ordered the Executive Office of the President to preserve media that was improperly deleted from White House servers, to Equity Analytics v. Lundin, where he concluded that expert testimony was required to evaluate search methodology in ediscovery production. He authored over 700 opinions during his time on the bench.

The Ceremony

The celebration will be a night of fine dining, socializing with the men and women shaping ediscovery practice, and a chat with our very special guest, the esteemed Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and best-selling author of 19 books, including the recent “Fear: Trump in the White House,” Mr. Bob Woodward.